top of page
Search

Incredible suprise from BG :~)

Michael and Freya headed out for a walk Saturday morning (10/21), while I headed downstairs to continue quilting on Linda’s first quilt.


In the early afternoon I finished the quilting and got it cleaned up and off of the frame. Shortly afterwards, the doorbell rang and I headed upstairs…at this point I just have to say:

‘’I HAVE THE BEST FRIENDS IN THE ENTIRE WORLD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!’’


BG had told me that she was sending me a package…and it would arrive on Saturday…..the doorbell was the package being delivered…..I called her on the phone to tell her I have received it and that we are opening it. Well…let’s just say she wraps things like my Aunt Violet….tons of wrapping and an ENTIRE roll of packing tape! And I have scissors that could NOT cut through butter if you heated them!!! Anyway, we finally get everything exposed, and this is what we see:

and I SCREAM INTO THE PHONE!!!! (As an aside, I think this is why Mary Jo once said to me that I was the fun-est person to give a gift to….because my reactions are frequently over the top, not over the top for me…just over the top compared to other people :~). Never in my wildest dreams would I have guessed what she was sending. If you gave me ONE HUNDRED guesses, I would NOT have gotten it.


So, for the full story…BG was visiting YEARS AND YEARS ago, and was helping me with the Christmas craft fair at the Lake House. Tailgators went around to take the crafter’s lunch orders…and I told BG she had to get a hot dog because these were the best hot dogs I have ever tasted in my life (and I LOVE hot dogs!!). She gets a superior expression and says ‘’no way…Mucke’s hot dogs are the best’’…I say ‘’just wait’’, but of course she doesn’t believe me. So….we get our hot dogs…and she takes a couple of bites…and then says ‘’can we get another one??????’’ We have been searching every since (although I did manage to buy a box from Tailgators early on because the leader felt I had done a lot for them), but our Tailgators group from here has stopped ordering from SYSCO, and we can’t find them anywhere else :~(. Well, we are searching no longer because my clever friend has continued to search for years…and finally found them….and shipped me TWENTY of them (the rest are all ready for the freezer):

I CANNOT believe it!!!! BG – you are the BEST!!!!! After that I calmly went back to loading Linda’s second quilt…secure in the knowledge that I would be having a KILLER dinner :~). I only got the backing of the quilt loaded before I ran out of steam….


And I’m not sure if I ever posted this picture of the afghan knitted by friend Connie…..it’s so pretty:


And of course, a gratuitous puppy pic:



And this one is courtesy of Leila, and made me laugh right out loud...


*** "Why don't monsters eat ghosts?" "Because they taste like sheet" ***

80 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page