top of page
Search

Member/Member Banquet, Pittsburgh Cookie Table

Michael was up and out early on Friday (4/26) for a follow-up eye appointment, and a foot doctor appointment (along with hitting the bird store and the pet store and a grocery store and the strawberry place (where we struck out :~( on the way home).


I did my first bike ride of the year (agony as I am so out of shape!) and then did a bunch of paperwork chores (bill paying, sending a series of emails, requesting antibiotics for my dental procedure next week). After that I got out a blog entry and was ready to get back to sewing/quilting by NOON.


My bed quilt continues to grow:


thanks to BG laying out all of the blocks I had done. Thank goodness she set up the pattern for me to follow…I’m not sure I would have figured it out….it’s one of those ‘’hurts your brain’’ layouts :~). Since all of my strata are now done (but not ironed), XENA’s rails are empty and I decided the first thing I should do is get working on my customer quilts! I did manage to get the backing loaded for Sandy’s next quilt, but that’s about it…I think I’m still recovering from BG’s visit.


Michael and I left at 5:30 PM for the MEMBER/MEMBER banquet…and this time I got to see the Pittsburgh Cookie Table in person (here's the group that helped with the cookie table...and so much more...the 2 ladies on the outside thought it up...Barb & Nancy!):






I did a big write up last year about what a cookie table is (you know how proud I am to be from Pittsburgh)….you can read about it here: https://dreamsoaps.wixsite.com/website/post/new-quilt-on-xena-cookie-table


When the gals started this last year, I think they were very smart. They wrote to all of the wives, asking if they would bake…and asking us to send our top 3 cookies we were willing to make…that way they didn’t end up with 15 people doing chocolate chip, and another 15 doing peanut butter. And they made sure to thank everyone who baked:


Anyway, they had over a thousand cookies….and an incredible variety:






-look Inez....Lady Locks!!!! I'm going to meet with her later in the year to get a lesson on dough and her filling!!!! They were heaven!!!!!
















-there are shortbread cookies in the bottom this pic....I got the recipe and can't wait to make those bars at Christmas, then dip them half in dark chocolate and roll in crushed candy canes...they were excellent!


The amount of work that goes into this banquet is unbelievable….from the photo booth:



to the table décor:


to all of the raffle prizes....to everything inbetween...it was all top notch and I had a great time….definitely glad I went. PS – I got 2 NEW recipes I can’t wait to try :~).



*** I try to find the good in every situation…..WAIT….did I say good? I meant FOOD….I try to find the FOOD in every situation :~). ***


80 views6 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page