top of page
Search

Monday through Friday!

This blog is gonna have to hold you all for awhile as plans have changed and BG COMES IN TODAY!!!!!!!!!!!!! So, this morning I will be running around like a crazy person trying to get ready.....I CAN"T WAIT!!!!!!!!


**************************************


OK – Monday morning (4/15) was another 3 day blog entry….guess that’s kinda my new normal :~). I did intake on another customer quilt from Sandy and finished up quilting on the QoV. There is a guy in Sun City that quilts ALL of the Sun City quilts of valor for free...and I give him HUGE kudos for that....but I like the density of quilting on my quilts better....I think his seems VERY loose:


I also continued to sew together bed blocks. I left for knitting class before 6 PM and had 3 old students and 3 new students….I think all of us had a great time.


Michael and I talked for a bit when I got home, then it was a bit of TV before bed.


*************************************************


Michael headed out early Tuesday morning (4/16) for PT on his knee and grocery shopping at 3 different stores.


I headed to my computer to get out the minutes for Scrap Happy, and then felt like my morning was all over the place! I continued to clean up the QoV quilt, did intake on another customer quilt, had an hour phone session with my diabetes coach, answered questions from my honey about stuff I asked him to buy while he was out…and put together the dry ingredients for bread dough. I only got the dry done because Michael came home around then and the island was suddenly full of tons of groceries. We got them put away and I headed back downstairs and finished getting the Scrap Happy QoV all cleaned up and off of the frame….I’ll trim it at quilting on Thursday.


After that I got Sandy’s first quilt loaded up:


and set up and set off the quilting:



I got the bread dough baked and delivered half a loaf to a neighbor:


before Michael left before 6 PM to pick up Mark and head to the movies…and I continued quilting until around 8, when I headed upstairs to continue sewing my shrug together.


****************************************


Wednesday morning (4/17) I SKYPE’d with Janice, while Michael and Freya headed to the dog park. I finished up and went back to quilting, while Michael packed up and headed out to golf. I spent the day quilting on Sandy’s quilt…and by dinnertime, I only had 1 pass left to do.


I've been working on QoV blocks for my leaders & enders project, and finally had enough done to lay them out to help figure out a dialysis quilt. When Mary Jo was here last, she did such a nice layout on big and small 4 patches I had made for a men's dialysis quilt. I wanted to continue to use her layout for future scrap quilts....but the math for how many big 4 patches and how many small 4 patches was totally eluding me....and I think I've already given the Mary Jo quilt away....so....I laid out the big QoV patches:



and counted them...and was then able to figure out how many small ones I would need. I wrote everything down and put it in my scrap 4 patch drawer.....SCORE!!


******************************************


Thursday (4/18) was all about quilting in the morning, with great show & tell:



-look at that quilting June did...it really enhanced an already spectacular quilt!



-and I loved the quilting pattern on this Christmas quilt so much.....


-that I asked Donna to find out what it was called so I can buy it!!!


-these casserole carriers are from our class last week


I came home at lunchtime to visit with our financial planner who was down from Connecticut. This was the first time we had met in person (we’ve previously done ZOOMS) and it was delightful to meet him! He had lots of information for us about how our investments were doing and how we were doing with keeping within our budget and it was all good news!


Michael and Rick headed out for a spin in the MUSTANG, and Michael brought home a FABULOUS surprise:


OMG!!!! They are HUGE and juicy and taste absolutely divine. I got Sandy’s quilt cleaned up and unpinned, but not yet trimmed before I quit for the evening.


*****************************************


We were out of the house early Friday (4/19) for laser surgery on Michael’s right eye to try to (hopefully) get the pressure under control….and then stopped at IHOP for breakfast. We didn’t get home until NOON when Michael took Freya to the dog park and I started to put together a dessert for Saturday night. You make the dessert in layers, and need to let each one cool down and/or set up in between. Floy brought this dessert to Scrap Happy at the beginning of the month and it was AWESOME!!


I had a meeting in the afternoon with our CPA and my sister’s estate seems to be causing nothing but problems…..It appears that we now owe taxes on money we have not even received yet!!!


Oh well…I came home and after a few chores, my honey and I settled in the living room with our books and a pre-dinner cocktail. Around 6:30 we finally roused ourselves and he started to make puffy things and pour champagne:


-yep....with some of those luscious strawberries he had frozen!


and we settled in for a romantic date night watching FATHER OF THE BRIDE….the original one with Spenser Tracy.


And I'm including this from 10 years ago....it is HALF of the month of April...and all I can say is....where did all of my energy go???? You might want to wait and read it over the next week since I probably won't be blogging...and you might want to read from the bottom up so that you're going in the right direction: https://foodandfiberfloozie.blogspot.com/2014/04/



*** Why is it that people say they "slept like a baby" when babies wake up like every two hours? ***


*** If corn oil is made from corn, and vegetable oil is made from vegetables, what is baby oil made from? ***




87 views3 comments
bottom of page