top of page
Search

To-be-bound pile grows, Janice's guild's challenge, SHQ Show & Tell

Although it was a rainy, overcast day on Tuesday (4/9), Michael headed out on errands while I headed downstairs. First up was trimming the first brown quilt and getting it on the (ever growing) to-be-bound pile:


Then I cleaned up the second quilt, got it trimmed, and on the pile:


After that I cut the 40 white squares I need complete my QoV star blocks and everything is in my pizza box:


ready to keep me busy at quilting for quite awhile.


I decided I needed a treat after that, so I pulled over my green accordion folder and picked out my next, at home project….I’m pretty sure this will be it (from a new book I recently got):



Janice kept me up –to-date with her quilt guild challenge…judging was today….here’s how it went along with her comments:


-her quilt, ‘’ Out of practice with miniatures, a couple wonky blocks, but I was glad I participated’’ (of course her hand is there, just for scale of the quilt):




And the winners…best embellishments (butterfly):



best use of challenge fabric (which was a 4 inch square of leafy green):


crowd favorite, as voted by membership:



She said the other contestants were ‘’ WAY above my league, some VERY talented ladies in my guild’’.


*****************************************************


I SKPYE’d with Janice Wednesday morning (4/10) while Michael was out golfing and then finally used the 2 sticks of butter and 2 eggs that have been sitting out on my counter FOR_EV_ER:


I spent a lot of the afternoon reading a new library book and then reclaiming backing fabric and getting binding done for one of my just finished quilts:



Arizona Mary really liked my ''cool beans'' longarm stitchout, so she got a pantograph of it and did it free hand on one of her quilts...cool!:



And I really wish I could get a picture that shows how deep, dark, and gorgeous purple these iris really are:



****************************************


What a rainy, overcast gray day it was on Thursday (4/12); I’m sure it kept several people from attending Scrap Happy quilting….but not me :~)! For once I got a lot done and the QoV committee approved the star blocks I plan to make with my 4 patches and HST’s! We had some show & tell:

-Floy continues to crank out this style of quilt....she is really enjoying making them





I managed to get a sandwich made before I left (thanks to Michael ALWAYS packing up my car for me) and it was EXCELLENT (for some reason, some people asked me if I made it…they said it looked professional :~). Anyway, it was Cranberry Almond Chicken Salad from ALDI’s, with a layer of fresh spinach on homemade bread.


I sewed after lunch and finally got home after 2 PM. I talked for awhile with Michael and then was just exhausted and took a quick nap before starting to load up a QoV. I don’t have any customer quilts right now, so I brought home a QoV from Scrap Happy to get the quilting done....I just got the back loaded before starting to make dinner....at 7 PM!!!


Michael took Freya to the dog park in the afternoon:




*** If a deaf person has to go to court, is it still called a hearing?


Why do doctors leave the room while you change??? They're going to see you naked anyway.


Why is "bra" singular and "panties" plural? ***



64 views2 comments
bottom of page