top of page
Search

Leila's Halloween wall hanging, another PSA

I had a bike ride and a quick shower before SKYPE-ing with Janice on Wednesday morning (8/23). My honey came home from grocery shopping and made me a quick egg/cheese/toast before I took off for my massage. I was home before 2 PM and worked on my blog and finally got it out and continued to load the backing for Marcia’s quilt. Here are the kitties while Michael is fixing dinner...they are still not at all sure about this interloper:


*** NEWS FLASH!!!!! NEWS FLASH!!!! 5:30 PM at 15256 Legend Oaks Court…..Michael is at the stove cooking his dinner….I’m downstairs….he hears a little ‘ding!’ and turns around….Freya is standing by the door…he takes her out…..she pee’s!!!!! SHE RANG THE BELL!!!! I LOVE HER!!!!! (In case you don’t understand….I’ve taught my last 2 dogs to ring a bell when they want to go out, as I didn’t always have a sight line to the door…so we are working on the same thing with Freya). I certainly don’t think we’re out of the woods yet, but she seems to be getting the idea!


And friend Leila just finished this cute Halloween kitty top:


PSA (Public Service Announcement) – So…Michael fell again Monday night when he was taking Freya out for the last time at night. At first he couldn’t even get himself up, but eventually rolled over to all fours and got up. He came into the bathroom (where I was getting ready for bed) with a big gash on his leg and blood everywhere. I asked what happened, but at that time he didn’t know why he fell. My anxiety level sky-rocketed with this incident coming on the heels of the incident at the post office and I was determined to sign him up for the balance classes here at SCCL.


You know, the thing that changes as we get older is that…we do trip when we’re younger, but we’re usually able to regain our footing before hitting the floor….regaining our footing is what we generally lose as we get older.


So, the next morning when we were both a bit calmer, I asked him to think about why he fell. He had already been thinking about it and knew the answer. He was wearing slippers that are kind of like felted wool…when his foot swung out to take a step, the slipper twisted part way off of his foot, and then he came down on the lump and it was enough to throw him off. I have a friend who also told me that she had taken a couple of falls and finally figured out it was the sandals she was wearing. She said ‘’My foot would slip in them or I’d walk out of them and I’d lose my balance.’’. I have read that at our age, we should not be wearing any kind of flip flops…and if we are wearing sandals, they should definitely have a strap that goes all around the back of your foot/heel. Needless to say, we were on the internet Tuesday morning to order shoe-type slippers from LL BEAN for Michael. So, check your footwear..and save yourself some scrapes or potentially worse.



*** I wanna go back to the days when my biggest anxiety was stopping the cassette tape before the DJ started talking when I was recording the top 10. ***

91 views4 comments
bottom of page