top of page
Search

Quilting Started

Current COVID related deaths: 630,532


COVID deaths yesterday: 629,951


***************************************

Michael was up and out early on Tuesday (8/3) for a dentist appointment that was (unbeknownst to him due to the mistaken erasure of a text) changed to Thursday :~(.

He got home in time for me to go to PT…I have to admit, each week I notice something else that is better than the week before. Today I noticed that I wasn’t thinking about my shoulder as I washed my hair in the morning….I still have trouble pinning it up, but washing it is no longer a problem.


I came home from PT and read for a bit before heading down to Paula’s. She made a birthday cake over the weekend for her granddaughter and I wanted to check out her frosting. Look at this beautiful cake:



I LOVE it…and the frosting was PERFECT!!! I think it is the same kind of frosting that Inez used to put on the cakes she sold. I was going to do that on mine….but I didn’t have enough CRISCO and didn’t want Michael to have to go to the store….I’ll definitely do that frosting next time.


I hit the studio after that and put away some things before pulling out my Christmas quilt again. This has been languishing….and as a result I had to spend a good bit of time figuring out where I was and what still needs to be done.


Michael had an early dinner and left to pick up Larry for the movies at 5:30 PM. After my own dinner I finally kicked off quilting on the Bento Box….I LOVE it (both thread color and quilting pattern):



I headed upstairs around 9:30 PM and Michael was home shortly after that.


I know I've told you before that I want to build up my stash of ''men's quilts'', but somehow whenever I finish 1 or 2, a need pops up? Well, this time is no different. Do you remember Brian...one of Michael's former students who ended up living very close to us when we moved to SCCL? Who was the original reason that Michael joined FB? Who lived with us for a number of months before moving back to Connecticut? Well, he's been under a lot of stress with his job lately and ended up having a heart attack! So, of course, one of my latest quilts wended its way to Connecticut...and is currently wrapping Brian in love:



And here’s the view from the front porch of Janice & Dennis’s vacation house:


Looks incredible doesn’t it?


*** MMR - Michael's Movie Reviews ***

Snake Eyes — stars Henry Golding as the title character, based on G.I Joe by Hasbro toys. This epic “gun-fu” thriller contains a high body count and super martial arts battles. Golding’s character is out for revenge to find his father’s murderer, and he saves the life of an heir to a Japanese powerful clan and is adopted and taught their ways. Meanwhile an estranged brother to the saved person tries to regain his lost throne of power, and that sets up all the ensuing battles. Again family dynamics are involved and much action and even some supernatural elements are brought in. If you like Asian martial arts this is for you! I give it 4 fat quarters out of 5.



*** Every time I fold laundry, I contemplate becoming a nudist. Then I remember what I look like naked and keep folding. ***

58 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page